Presidential Address

Welcome to the first EPSA Newsletter for 2016!

Last year was a successful year for EPSA. We held a large conference (EPSA15) in Düsseldorf, which many of you attended. We launched a new initiative – EPSA Fellowships for junior philosophers working in Central and Eastern Europe – thanks to the great support by an impressive number of European research centers. And our journal – the European Journal for Philosophy of Science (EJPS) – received its first impact factor of 1.195 (Thomson Reuters Journal Citation Reports® 2015). We are especially proud of the latter news as it is not easy to establish a new journal and it usually takes much longer to receive an impact factor. We are very grateful to Mauro Dorato and Carl Hoefer for their excellent work as Editors-in-Chief and to Ties Nijssen from Springer for his constant support of EPSA over the years.

At EPSA15 a new Steering Committee was elected. The members of the new Steering Committee are Mieke Boon, Raffaella Campaner, Roman Frigg, Martin Kusch, Sabina Leonelli, Bert Leuridan, Uskali Maeki, Katarzyna Paprzycka as well as Michela Massimi (Vice-President) and Stephan Hartmann (President). Please contact us if you have any suggestions and ideas for initiatives, which will help us letting philosophy of science flourish even more in Europe. EPSA was founded to do just this, but it requires the help of all of us, and not just the elected members of the Steering Committee. Thus, we welcome any ideas and suggestions that can help foster EPSA.

The next elections will take place in the summer of 2017. These elections will be conducted electronically and, as decided, only half of the members of the present Steering Committee will be replaced, making sure that there is sufficient continuity on the committee. As announced already, the next EPSA conference will take place in Exeter from 6 to 9 September 2017. Please save the date!

Finally, I would like to remind you of the Call for Editor(s)-in-Chief of EJPS. Finding a new editorial team is one of the most important tasks of the present Steering Committee and I hope that many of you will consider putting in an application. Editing a prestigious journal is a rewarding task, and the Editors do a great service to the community.

Please enjoy reading this newsletter. And thanks to David Teira, Raffaella Campaner, Sabina Leonelli, and Michela Massimi for compiling it.

Stephan Hartmann

Munich Center for Mathematical Philosophy
President of EPSA

© 2021 European Philosophy of Science Association (EPSA)

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software