EPSA Fellowship Scheme

EPSA's Fellowship Scheme provides junior philosophers working in Central and Eastern Europe with the opportunity to visit a leading research institution in Western Europe.

An EPSA Fellowship is intended to cover the costs of travel, accommodation, and living expenses for up to one month. EPSA Fellows are expected to be resident at their host institution and take part in its research activities. The Fellowship Scheme is made possible by the continued and generous support of our partner institutions, who cover the full costs of the awards. 

The Fellowship Scheme operates on a biennial basis. Details of the 2021-22 application process will be posted here in the spring of 2021.

*  For the purposes of these awards, "junior" is understood as researchers who are (a) in the last six months of their PhD or (b) have been awarded their PhD no more than five years prior to the application deadline.

Update on COVID

Given the ongoing coronavirus situation, we have decided to postpone the next round of Fellowship applications. We will keep revisiting this decision and post any updates here.

If you are a current EPSA Fellow and are are experiencing problems with your planned research visit, please get in touch with us and we will do everything we can to help.

What former Fellows say…

The EPSA Fellowship Scheme launched in 2015, as part of our ongoing mission to promote the European tradition in philosophy of science. Since then, we have had three cohorts. Here is what they have to say:

"The Fellowship gave me the opportunity to spend a very productive month at the Egenis Centre, where I will be working as a Marie Curie Fellow soon."

Özlem Yilmaz, Istanbul Technical University

"I gained a wider perspective on publishing, funding opportunities, the job market, and other crucial aspects of contemporary academia."

Borut Trpin, University of Ljubljana

EPSA Fellowship Committee

The EPSA Fellowship Committee is responsible for all aspects of the Fellowship Scheme: 

    • Ellen Clarke
    • Maria Kronfeldner
    • Martin Zach

For all enquiries, please contact the Fellowship Committee at

© 2022 European Philosophy of Science Association

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software